Phishing Alert: ACCOUNT UPDATE

Some U-M community members reported receiving this email. It is fraudulent or malicious. Do not respond, click any link in it, or provide personal information or money. See Phishing & Suspicious Email for more tips. If you need help, contact the ITS Service Center.

Date Sent: 
Thursday, September 19, 2019

Phishing Message Summary

This phishing email attempts to trick users into providing their name and password to a fake login site. A PDF with links to a malicious site is attached to the email. The email and PDF are branded with Gmail branding, including many graphic elements shown in the screen shot below. Clues that this email is a phish include the numerous spelling and grammar errors and unprofessional tone.

U-M and Google will not send email asking you to rush to prevent account shutoff of Google services. University of Michigan Google services, including email, will not forward you to third-party sites for updates. A check of the URL in this phising email shows that it is not a valid Google or U-M address. Always check a site's URL before entering your user credentials!

Phishing Email Text

Hi User,
Due to increased traffic on our internet data base, we are deleteing all unused Google Accounts to free up space. If you still want to maintain your account with us, you are required to update your account within 72hours of receiving this notice.

Failure to do so, we will assume that you do not have the interest in maintaining your account with us. Your Email acount will be permanently suspected and all it's content will be deleted.

Best Regards,

The Google Mail Team

This email can not receive replies. To give us feedback on this alert, click here.
For more information, visit Google Account Help center.

Phishing Site Screenshot: 
A fake Google page is presented by the link in the email. Always check for a valid U-M URL before entering credentials.